Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 4 - To Pamplona

    September 12, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 23 °C

    Day 4 - To Pamplona
    Just as I arrived in Zubiri via a bridge yesterday, I left town on the same bridge. This bridge is called “Rabies Bridge”. An old tradition has it that if a dog was walked 3 times over the bridge it was believed to be protected from rabies. Legend from the 15th century says that builders dug into the rock to place a pillar and found a woman’s embalmed body. Santa Quiteria, patron saint against rabies. “When she was being transported to Pamplona to be buried, her body miraculously refused to budge from this spot, so her processional assumed it was a sign that she wished to be buried along the pilgrim road” (Camino De Santiago village to village guide, 2022).
    Today was a very difficult day! I hiked 20.6 km in 36°C searing heat. There was pockets of shade here and there, but not a lot. My water warmed up quickly in my pack. I had to rest far more often today, especially while walking in the direct sun. I became fatigued very easily. I was nauseous and constantly felt over-exerted, at one point thinking I wasn’t going to be able to make it to my destination of Pamplona. We have had a few people drop already, this early, from heat overexertion. So I was actually a little concerned. But I went very slow and tried my best to keep water in me, although it made me even more nauseous. I also tried to take a few bites of food now and then. And I took advantage of resting in the shade whenever I could find some. I went past a creek and the temptation to jump in was almost overwhelming! Not a lot of pictures today; I had to focus on myself. And by God’s grace, I did it!! Presently I’m in Pamplona. I have decided to take a rest day, tour the city, and regroup for tomorrow’s hike. So I’m here for 2 nights.
    Read more