Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Day 16 - To Burgos

    September 24, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    Day 17 -To Burgos
    23 kms; Difficulty 1/3

    It was a cooler day with misty rain throughout my walk. I am in desperate need of more clothes because I have one pair of pants and the only long sleeve shirt I had I inadvertently left at one of the previous Albergues! And it’s getting cold in the mornings. I’m looking forward to getting to Burgos. In fact I am planning to spend an extra day there to tour some highlights and buy a few clothes.

    Enroute to Burgos I passed a small town called Atapuerca, famous for its archeological site.
    It became a world heritage site by UNESCO on November 30, 2000. This is where greater than 90% of prehistoric humanoid artefacts in all of Europe were found, including a new species identified as “homo antecessor”(dated .77 to 2.5 million years ago) and the last common ancestor of modern humans and Neanderthals. They were thought to have been cannibalistic.

    I had to laugh at what was written on this arrow sign. Some pilgrims have quite a sense of humour!

    The path was particularly difficult in spots today. With lack of concentration it was a recipe for twisting/spraining an ankle or falling and worse!

    I am wondering if anyone can guess what this road sign means!
    Read more