Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    9-15

    September 15, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    There is something so wonderful about simplifying your life to a place where you walk, eat, and sleep. And while you walk and eat, you meet amazing people on amazing journeys.

    Yesterday I walked over 21 miles. It was wonderful and beautiful, but so long! And I got a late start. So, for my last few miles, I was completely alone (or so I thought…). I finally busted out my music, and danced and sang. Turned out, Casey caught up with me - I was very embarrassed, but he assured me that it was actually helpful to have some entertainment in the last grueling hour…. So, now I’ve been nicknamed the singing lady… In fact today I was singing along to one of my favorite Nanci Griffith songs, when a beautiful man (maybe around 40) appeared and told me that he’d rate my singing 10/10, to which I replied “I think I love you”. At which point another beautiful man passed by and said, “I’d give you a 12/10.” When I stopped in the next village, a few people asked if I was the singing lady.

    I keep losing things. When I finally got to my destination last night, my people were all at a table outside and actually cheered. There’s nothing better than being warmly welcomed after walking 20+ miles….. So I sat down and reviewed with my new friends how I was now down to one pair of underwear, Miguel spit out his drink. I think his biggest fear is coming around a bend to find me walking naked - and singing.

    The conversations are getting intense as we walk. And emotions are surfacing for everyone! It’s truly a gift to hear my fellow travelers’ stories…..

    Today was easier, although I did get my first major blister…… I walked a long time with John from Canada. He’s 75!
    Read more