Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    9/16

    September 16, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Today was a short day - only about 10 miles…. However, I think I’ve walk about 155 miles so far (it’s going too fast…….)

    I had decided to stay in a small town (Navarrete) because it marks the beginning of the Ignation Camino. Having worked at a Jesuit university for many years, I chose to stay at Posada Ignatius. Turns out that st. Ignatius actually lived in the building I’m staying in from 1517 to 1521. As Sophia took me to my room, she told me that the stairs we were walking on are the original steps - that Saint ignatius had walked on these very steps…… I thought that was so cool!

    I couldn’t get into my room for a bit, so I went in search of food. I then went into the town’s church - which was absolutely stunning.

    So, I’m just sitting in the very front of the beautiful church - meditating and praying and some local people begin to come in and sit in pews around me. They are fairly dressed up and MUCH cleaner than me, but I just continue to sit. Then, a lovely woman sits next to me and asks if I’m a “pelegrino” and I say si. I ask her, “is there going to be a mass?” And she says, Si. Masa”. I’m thinking - awesome, I’ll stay for mass. In a few minutes I’m surrounded by sweet smelling, very dressed up, local people…. Then, an older couple comes down the aisle and I realize I’m at a wedding - and I’m basically sitting with the family! I’m mortified, but I can’t just get up and walk out while the priest is saying mass. So, I just sit…. Until finally, the priest goes over to the couple and I leave as discretely as I can. And that was my afternoon…… The end.
    Read more