Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 327

    Leticia

    November 21, 2020 in Colombia ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    Liverpool Mike told me two years ago when he was here for the first time, he met Elvis and Gloria the owners of Xingu Hostel.
    After we walked an hour from one end of Tabatinga to the other end of Leticia, two neighbor cities, we finally arrived at Xingu. Mike mentioned on the way several times they we can’t be right it’s not that far outside in the woods. However my maps.me app told me where Xingu is so I convinced him to trust my map. We knocked at the fence and Juan opened the gate. He spoke fluent English and told us all about how he split up with Gloria and opened a new Xingu outside Leticia. He told us lots of stories about some foreigners who tried to take a flight to Bogota and others visited Iquitos.

    Mike and I decided to visit Gloria at her old place where Mike staid before. We went to her place, she was not at home. Only a few minutes passed when a scooter with a young woman arrived at the place. It was Gloria, she welcomed us and she immediately started to prepare our beds. She didn’t open her business in the last 6 months, due to the lack of tourism during the pandemic. Gloria recommend me to visit some tribal houses on the forest. That was a nice hike into the jungle which I did the next day.

    However my main goal was Peru. Crossing the boarder for good. I wanted to leave this hot Amazonian climate zone and get rid of my rice belly in Peruvians mountains. I bought a ticket to Iquitos. As Juan already mentioned I couldn’t get a stamp to enter Peru, migration office was closed. I changed my plans. 1 week Iquitos and back.
    Read more