Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 332

    Iquitos

    November 26, 2020 in Peru ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    A speed boat brought me to Iquitos. At 4 o’clock in the morning the boat stoped at a boarder control base. An army member checked my passport and told me to follow him outside into the darkness. I walked through slippery mud uphill to a house. The guy waited until I gave him some money. He even waited longer to squeeze more money out of me. After like 5 minutes I started to get nervous because I knew the speed boat wouldn’t wait for me. I gave him 100 Reais additionally to the 60 Peruvian soles he already received. In the end I spent 30 euros to get into Peru. Clearly I still didn’t have an entry stamp so on the way out I might have to play the same farce again.

    I’ve chosen an amazing hostel. The owner a sun with his mother and the guests, a Canadian retired dice instructor/language teacher and a Belgian guy who left on my second day. He was replaced with a Greek guy Nomade. Vadim from Canada (Russian background) and Prometheus were absolutely enjoyable. Even we were lazy as a sloth we always went for lunch and dinner together.
    On the first day I arrived late in the night.
    On the second day I bought a SIM card.
    On the third day I went to Isla de Los Monos.
    On the third/fourth day Vadim and I went to the jungle for a Ayahuasca ceremony. Overnight.
    On the fifth day I visited Barrio Florido together with Vadim. In the evening we celebrated the hostels first anniversary.
    On the sixth day I went to the city center and took some photos. I also fried to visit Belen. The flooded neighborhood during high tide in. We were in the end of the dry season hence Belen had no water. I was not welcome in Belen, people who live there are supposed to be the poorest in Iquitos. They showed me to go back upstairs and leave their neighborhood. In the Night Vadim and I went to a high class restaurant where I ordered a nice Ceviche and an Anticuchos.
    On the seventh day I puked and tried to recover from food poisoning.
    On the eight day I went back to Leticia.
    Read more