Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 505

    Pasto

    May 18, 2021 in Colombia ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Once we arrived in Pasto, i knew what i had to do. Since half of the Courtney has a strict national strike of transportation, I was forced to buy a plane ticket to move on. Hence I needed to go to the migration office to get a legal status of traveling in Colombia. Option one was to pay a fine (sanción económica) and afterwards to issue a Salvoconducto which is a permission to stay in Colombia up to 30 days. Second option is a deportation which is free of charge but comes with a lot of drawbacks such as blacklisted for one year and for each time I’d visit Colombia I would have to get a visa.

    I chose to pay the fine and to stay in Pasto until the office has processed all the paperwork. I learned some new Spanish words like multa and cita and I for the first time vitnessed how violent protests on the streets were befallen.
    Read more