Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 580

    Cerro Chato

    August 1, 2021 in Costa Rica ⋅ 🌧 20 °C

    Absolutely lost in thick jungle.
    According to maps.me the trail to the crater lake is 7.8 km and could be done in less than 2 hours. I chose to hike the unofficial path shown on the map so I could avoid passing the national park entrance and by that saving a couple dollars.

    The trail was absolutely beautiful there were even signs with a yellow arrow showing the way to the top. However at a certain point the trail started to vanish and the jungle got thicker and thicker. According to my gps signal I was not too far from the top of the hill so I kept fighting through the jungle.

    And then it happened I got lost, no more gps signal totally alone and for about an hour, there was no trail to follow anymore. I had to do some serious and dangerous jungle bashing through thick thorny plants and climbed over large rotten trunks. Thought I was going to die a few times but just had to keep heading uphill until I found a trail. My whole body was scratched up from the thorns. That was such an adventurous day.

    P.S. Exaggeration, Inever though of dying only thing what happened is yelling into the forest the same words over and over again: How much longer!!!???
    Read more