Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 579

    La Fortuna

    July 31, 2021 in Costa Rica ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    Fortunately I didn’t die.
    From Puerto Viejo I took a bus to the capital city San Jose. I staid one night there just for the sake or it. At the next day I tried to find an official Sony service center to repair my camera. Saturdays are like Sundays I reckon hence no shop was open. I took my bags and started for La Fortuna.

    Once arrived in this touristic yet bucolic village I checked in a nice hostel with pool. Like in Panama as well as the south of Costa Rica, La Fortuna was full of Swiss people as well as Israelis. Loads of travel agencies could be found in the streets. I checked online for some hikes and decide to walk up to a little crater lake on Cerro Chato.

    After this strong hike (see following post/footprint) I took a day off and relaxed in my hostel. I did walk a bit outside the village to see if there are any sloths hanging around. I did the same the following day, sneaked into a fenced compound where I spotted some beautiful birds and a shit log of mosquitos. Unfortunately I couldn’t take any good photos of this shiny blue birds. In the afternoon I checked out El Salto a waterfall with swing. I walked s but down the river snd suddenly spotted some tiny red frogs with blue legs. I heard rumors about how deadly poisonous this colorful frogs are. Back in Bocas del Toro I had a high level of respect and there I tried not to touch any of them which was challenging given that I was hiking barefoot through the rainforest. However this little blue jeans frog was so cute so I caught one put it on a leave and made a little photo shooting.

    Wikipedia says: Oophaga pumilio, while not the most poisonous of the dendrobatids, is the most toxic member of its genus. I certainly had la Fortuna.
    Read more