Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    The big drive

    May 28, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    I get picked up from hotel at 8am by Ian from RAHC. He was the driver who drove me out to Ampilatwatja last year and he remembered me 😊.
    A bit of a chilly start but clear blue skies.
    We drive about 3 hours up the Stuart Highway to turn onto the Plenty Highway then to the Sandover Highway. Stuart and Plenty are sealed but the Sandover is dirt until you get to Alparra then it is sealed again for about 20 km to the Urupuntja Health Clinic at Utopia. It then turns dirt again. Road conditions were actually pretty good.

    When we get to the clinic we introduce me then find my accommodation to unpack. I'm in the Nissan Hut!! I have lunch then spend the afternoon doing orientation. All staff here are lovely and friendly. Lots of new staff, some on contracts like me, some here for 3 or 12 months. I think I'll like it here.
    Read more