Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    First Day in Langkawi, Hiking&Metaphers

    October 1, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    After Emil and I arrived at the hostel (15 min flight and i felt asleep bevore the plane was going up to the air) we quickly saw old acquaintances from the other hostel. So we were already 7 people in the evening, have drunk beer and played cards and had a great evening.
    Also we arranged a hike to the highest mountain in Langkawi for tomorrow.

    Although it rained hard at breakfast, we went hiking anyway, because we thought it would not rain today......

    After we completed the Easy Path after 2/3, it started raining very hard again (in total three hours!!). It was very admirable that none of us five guys (Cameron, Callum and Ben from UK, Emil and myself) were whining and it was clear that we were going through with the hike.

    Unfortunately it was clear that the view was not good, but we rather celebrated ourselves that we got this far with the conditions.
    So this hike was another borderline experience I had, as it was very strenuous, cold, windy and monsum-rainy.

    During the descent, two life metaphors came to my mind about the hike that I would like to capture:

    1. 'The Human plans, fate laughs at it':
    We can plan a hike or life as much as we want, it comes differently anyway and you have to cope with the unplanned changes. Moreover, the descent was not easy, as it was very steep and slippery. Every step had to be chosen carefully, so that you don't slip or fall. This is like an important (or stretegic) decision in life (choice of education, choice of studies, choice of job, [choice of partner], choice of children, choice of apartment or house and where,...), which should only be made with sufficient thought. Sometimes, however, you slip or fall to the ground during the descent. As with any important decision in life, not everything always goes smoothly. It's a matter of getting up, reflecting and moving on and continuing the further descent or life as best you can. Because it always goes on. It's up to you how the further path is shaped.

    2. 'You come into the world alone and die alone. Friends and family give you the illusion that you are not alone.'

    During the descent, Travellor friends gave me advice on how to walk or where to watch out because it was slippery. Also, a river crossing was very difficult, where I could throw my shoes and bag to Emil, who already crossed the river. During the river crossing he even held me out his hand at the end to help me. Ben was even carried along by the current about 3 meters. Cameron took another route after he has seen Ben as mine after i have seen him and Ben.

    In the end, I alone decide in my life what decisions I make and how and when as well as which path of life I take. My friends and family give me helpful advices and tips according to their experiences, but I must ultimately decide how I shape my life path and at which speed. Also, I can put more or less value on advice. Therefore, I tend to be alone in my life, with my friends and family giving me advice and always supporting me. (Philosophy lesson end)
    Read more