Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Arriving in Santiago de Chile

    January 22, 2023 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    I arrived in the morning at 8:00 at the bus terminal. After I left my backpack at the hostel, I went to Cerro San Cristóbal (Viewpoint with a Christian Maria), where the biggest park of Santiago is also located. I hiked up trough the park and enjoyed the view over Santiago. You were able to see the biggest mountain outside of Asia (Aconcagua) and also the biggest building in Latin-America(Gran Torro).

    Then I went to the Museo de la Memoria y los Derechos Humanos, where I got in touch with Chiles History. To the way there, one tyre of my bus was exploding, but it was ok😂 to the history:

    With the help of US the military Pinochet putched the government (Allende) at the 11.11.1973. The current prime minister Allende gave himself the golden shot during the military was shooting at his president building. (+operation Condor)
    After that the dictatorship ended after 17 years.
    Nice museum, with English audio guide!

    After that I ate a traditional sausage of Argentina/Chile (Chorizo). It was ok😂(more greasy than German sausages)

    Then I headed to plaza de armes, where I felt the first time a little bit insecure and it I expected more😂. My last stop was the government building, where the president works.

    So a Long day after a ok bus transfer.

    In the evening I cooked and had some talks with people of the hostel.(Bec from Australia, Daniel from France and Guillo from Argentina)
    Read more