Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 81

    Centro historico +fortress+Museo Larco

    March 24, 2023 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Today I went with the public transport the longer distances around the city. At first I made a stop at the really beautiful Centro historical with their plaza de armes, basilica, cathedral de Lima and a church.

    On the way I saw the palacio de justicia. This area was really nice and the architecture impressed me a lot. The basilica also had catacombs. The public transport is screeming around and only people, who know the area/bus stop names are used to that “public chaos”. But with asking it went out. Taxi driving would be to expensive, so I decided the public transport way. It went all out!! Also everyone was so helpfull.

    So I went with two collectivos to Fortaleza del Real Felipe, which is a fortress of the Spain of the 18th century. This fortress is close to the water and it really impressed me. Never seen something like that before. With the guns, wow. (The biggest gun was from London!) I also saw an u-boat from the mirador, which was not allowed to enter..😂#icannotspeakspanish

    Then I went to the museo larco (after going spontaneously to a barber), which was suuuper interesting. It showed mostly the different artefacts, for example drinking containers", carpets, clothing, jewellery, figurines and erotic Keramik artefacts😂, of the different cultures in Peru.

    They showed different artefacts of the peruan civilisation before the Spain came (Mochica, huari, chancay).
    Ther was also a cloth with of the chincha-Inca epoch, where a rug holds the world record in weaving at 157 threads per centimeter.!! It could be, that a Inca king wears that.
    I really loved that museo.

    After food I drove home and chilled at the hostel. Also my feats are hurting after that long day.
    Read more