Спутник
Показать на карте
  • День 2

    Day 2

    28 февраля 2023 г., Япония ⋅ 🌙 6 °C

    After a few hours wading through the New Chistose airport immigration and battling with the international ATM (no thanks to Bankwest), I finally make my way onto the rapid train service to Sapporo. The train ride was toasty and I could feel the fatigue building from the flights. Alas I finally arrive at Sapporo train station and proceed to hop on a connecting subway train to Honsui Shinsuki.

    A short 15 minutes later I find myself out of the subway and walking around in this illumimated city filled with bright lights, icy sidewalks, ploughed roads and the occasional water puddle. What became apparent momentarily was that dragging luggage through ice and residue white powder is quite the challenge, particularly wearing traditional sport shoes. With some careful manoeuvring I find myself at Androoms Sapporo Hotel where I book in and head to my room. To my surprise (or unsurprise) I note that my USA travel power adaptor does not fit into the power sockets.

    Off I go out again in search for a travel power adaptor. Turns out very few stores sell travel adaptors in Sapporo which had me wishing I bought one at the airport. Seemingly every block had at least one hostess club and three bars but tech stores were nowhere to be seen - on second thoughts that seems about right. After 45 minutes of aimlessly walking around under moonlight I finally found a tech store and stumbled my way to the power adaptors section. I wasnt able to find any travel adaptors so improvised by using a multi power adaptor which would connect to my travel adaptor - great success.

    With my phone battery running low I hurry my way back to my accommodation. I was running dangerously low on fumes at that point so stopped by a katsu chicken joint that caught my eye when searching for the a tech store. After a hot meal and nutritious fill of crispy fried chicken I slide my way across the icy paths to the accommodation, then started to recharge my phone and laptop before calling it a day.
    Читать далее