Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Enumclaw

    October 1, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 11 °C

    Enumclaw! The name says a lot. Friends from Northeastern (Ryan and Christina) who moved to the PNW some time ago moved to Enumclaw a few years ago to get out of the city and find a piece of land to call their own. I got wind of a barn project while on my way out to their house and offered to help while I was there. Upon arrival I met their friend Kevin who was a driving force for part of the project. Raising the barn a bit too make the walls straight, level out the roof line and pour a foundation under the barn. A project I was interested in to see how it was going to unfold. The property was huge compared to city dwelling. A large field out back with a big barn, a massive detached garage and a single level house. I was taken with the garage. A man cave which when fully functional could crank out projects which I can only dream of at this point.

    Hanging out with Ryan, Christina, and Kevin was a blast. We would work on the barn during the day, eat delicious food from chef Christina at night, talk and eventually play a dice game called farkle. The day I arrived it was partly cloudy. After that the sun decided to go on vacation. Aside from the lack of sun I really enjoyed Enumclaw. Soon it came time for me to fly back to Boston for Matt and Genevieve's wedding. Barn work progressed quickly and we finished the foundation slightly ahead of schedule. Before I went back to Boston I agreed to help put up new siding on the barn when I returned. After which there was going to be a birthday party on the coast with a bunch of people. Just like that I'd had the most plans I've had since the beginning of the trip.

    Pictures:
    Mount Renier from Ryan and Christina's yard. I think this was the only day I could see the mountain. A view from the plane on my way back to Seattle after the wedding. The Olympics are in the background.
    Read more