Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Back to Boston

    October 5, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    After a few days in Enumclaw I was soon on my way back to Boston for Matt and Genevieve's wedding. I was excited to see them get hitched as well as everyone who was going to be at the wedding.

    Before going into Boston, Andrew had offered to pick me up from the airport just after midnight, so I gladly accepted and spent the next day in Andover. He even took the day off so we could hang out. We started thinking about what to do on the day off. We decided to check out Nahant. I've only been to Nahant once in college and it wasn't during the day so it was cool to explore the peninsula. Northeastern has a lab out there which also happens to be an old gun installation from WWII. Pretty cool if you are looking for something to explore near Boston for a few hours.

    After getting back, Andrew, Amanda and I went out for dinner at the local Mexican joint. A delicious dinner with great friends!

    The next day was spent with the wedding party. We moved stuff around, prepared flowers, and went through a rehearsal at the church. It was fun for me but probably stressful for the bride and groom. So many things to get done, I'm not sure how they remembered their names as the end of the day. Speaking of the end of the day, we had dinner at branch line courtesy of Paul and Ann Babineau. Delicious food and drinks. Then we finished the night at the hotel bar before getting some much needed rest.

    Wedding day! A few more tasks to check off the list, but then it was time to get to the church. The ceremony was beautiful. I won't bore you with the details, typical wedding stuff, except it was Matt and Genevieve so you can imagine what it was like you weren't there.

    The next day brought brunch, and Mike McLinn's birthday! I lucked out and got to see him on his birthday which was a nice change of pace. The following day I went for a hike near Waterville valley with 15 friends! Definitely the biggest group of hikers in an unorganized event. The hike was amazing and it was great to see friends again.

    Special thanks to Mike Lambert and Sarah for letting me crash at their place and stashing my dehydrated food there. The next morning I was back on a plane to Seattle.

    Pictures: Boston from Nahant. Limo to the church. Mr McCann in fine form at the hotel after the wedding. Not sure how they expect keep things quiet with a vuvuzela in the lobby. Hiking with some of my favorite people. The foliage was also fine form. Sun bathing in October at the top of our hike.
    Read more