Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Sydney, Australia

    December 13, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Today began the first day of our Asian Christmas cruise, We had originally booked this cruise as we both got Annual Leave for the Christmas break, and since we were still on a high from our Alaskan cruise, this seemed like a great way to spend the Festive Season.

    Fortunately our flight to Denpasar wasn't until 5pm, so I had plenty of time to do pre-holiday arrangements, like laundry, packing a bag and getting a haircut. Since we are only visiting warm destinations, packing was easy. Unfortunately waiting for the dishwasher to finish its cycle before leaving wasn't, since we had to turn off the water before leaving.

    Once at the airport, something unfortunate happened when my arch enemy sciatica came back with a vengeance. It had bothered me in the morning, but by the time we got to check in, I was almost paralysed. Even worse was receiving our boarding passes late due to being on standby, meaning we had to make haste to our flight.

    By this stage I could barely walk, and security even sympathetically brought me to the front of the queue. They offered to get me a wheelchair to my flight, but were only able to get a trolley to use for support. Thankfully we were in Star Class, as even walking to my seat was excruciating pain.

    Fortunately the only pain I had to endure during the flight was when I needed to use the bathroom, as sitting didn't make it difficult. The CSM offered to get me a wheelchair upon arrival and by this stage, I knew it wasn't unreasonable to accept it. The passengers in Star Class were really sympathetic, and offered me help such as painkillers, massage therapy in Bali, and even a private driver to our hotel.

    Being wheeled through Denpasar airport was much better than hobbling through it, and my two commissionaires helped with luggage collection and going through immigration. Ted had arranged a taxi to the hotel, where I was then transferred to another wheelchair for the hotel.

    Hopefully this doesn't continue throughout the whole holiday. Today was the worst pain I've ever experienced, and it wasn't a great way to start.
    Read more