Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Day 13

    October 11, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Ted and I had a long drive today to Dallas Fort Worth airport, and were really unsure what time to leave, to allow for the traffic and check-in time at the airport. We ended up leaving just after 6am so we could have breakfast before hitting the road.

    Well, the weather was an enormous surprise. After the weeks of heat both here and in Mexico, we nearly froze today! Wearing only T-shirts and shorts, the temperature hovered around 10 degrees for most of the morning. Even more amazing was the downpour of rain - it was an absolute torrent. I was grateful when the sun finally came up as driving in the dark on a busy freeway in the pouring rain was somewhat unsettling.

    The traffic all the way ended up being fine, and the car return was easy. When we got to the check-in counters though, a lightning storm had earlier shut down the airport, meaning there were mis-connected passengers all trying to get onboard any flight available. We ended up joining that queue as our circumstances were similarly confusing - mainly because we weren't sure we would be able to connect to San Francisco once we arrived in Los Angeles. Unluckily, even thought the Delta check-in lady was lovely, she still charged us for checking in a bag!

    For lunch we had sandwiches at an airport 7-11 whilst we checked the status of the flights from LAX-SFO. Ted decided it wasn't worth the stress and suggested we just buy full fares with Southwest. I certainly didn't argue! It was during this time that I noticed I didn't have my Ipad with me. Ted asked if I'd remembered to collect it from the security conveyor belt, and I frantically run back in hope that the staff still had it. Luckily for me, they did, but I was still freaked out about nearly losing it.

    Our flight to LAX was pretty uneventful due to the disinterested Delta crew (no free snacks this time!) but once we arrived in LAX, the weather was dry and warm. We collected our bag and walked over to Terminal 1 where Southwest departs from. After a lousy cheese quesadilla for dinner (there weren't many options), we boarded our short flight to SFO. Whilst the Southwest crew were a lot more warm and friendly, they similarly didn't offer any freebies!

    It was after Ted and I had disembarked and we were walking towards the arrivals hall that I realised I didn't have my passport with me. Once again, I entered a mad panic as I ran back to the boarding gate and the agent on the desk asked the crew if they could check my seat pocket. Fortunately they did find it, and I sheepishly thanked them and went back to Ted. Praise the Lord! I don't know whether it was because of the long day, but this was the first time I've been so absentminded.

    Once outside the airport, we caught a lift to our accommodation at the Willows Inn - a place we have stayed before and like very much. It was also the only place we found with affordable accommodation. Whilst the room was moderately small, we were more than happy with our choice. Ted headed down the street to get some groceries before having an early night tonight. After all the day's excitement, we were understandably exhausted.
    Read more