Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Stop 2: Lost and Found Hostel

    October 12, 2022 in Panama ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    I spent the last three weeks volunteering at Lost and Found, a hostel in the middle of the jungle in Chiriqui, Panama. The first day that I arrived at the hostel, I almost stepped on the biggest snake I've ever seen - not the best introduction to the hostel. The remote location of this hostel is what makes it such a unique experience and ideal for spotting wildlife, like snakes. Each day I was there I saw something I had never seen before, including monkeys and glass butterflies (photos included!). Being so remote also came with a lot of challenges, like having to walk 40 minutes to the closest grocery store and getting really comfortable being around bugs. This experience reminded me to appreciate some of the things that I usually take for granted. Putting up with these inconveniences was well worth it for the ability to spend my time hanging out at swimming holes, visiting waterfalls, and going on adventures. Although I wouldn't have guessed it if you had asked me my first week there, I was really disappointed to say goodbye to this place and to the friendships I made here.Read more