Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12–13

    Negreira to Vilacerio

    November 2, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 9 °C

    Peaceful countryside, still raining, less cafés to rely on enough pilgrims to say hi but not too many. Reached a lovely Albergue almost...well did walk right past but got there
    Any D &M's? Did you know that the word pilgrim means you are an outsider? You don't belong. It's a vulnerable feeling but not necessarily uncomfortable. I try to use a few Spanish phrases to show respect. English is definitely not widespread
    Unfortunately using Spanish can be misleading because suddenly the listner thinks you belong...ie understand. So I visited a museum in Santiago and said to the Receptionist "Ola! Quanta Costa?" (HI how much does it cost?)"0 euros," she replied
    "Gracias" I say feeling very proud of looking like I belonged.
    Too good...she then continued to provide further information in rapid Spanish and my sense of belonging disappeared! I smiled politely and hurried off hoping she didn't expect an answer.
    I know...it's not that D&M but pilgrimages can also be very ordinary...
    Read more