Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Day 13 morning at Midwana School

    April 16 in South Africa ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    We drive into the school grounds at 11 am. and are soon surrounded by children crowding around the minibus. They are smiling and waving and remember us from last week when we gave out porridge.
    It is overwhelming so many faces looking at us. The school has 500 children and 60% are orphans. We stay in the van and wait for the teachers to guide what happens next.
    We climb out to say hello, so many high fives!
    Slowly, many children go into class, but around 200, stay out with us and form a large circle. Then it starts raining, we put on rain coats, they have none, and many are barefooted too. The circle moves under a large tree.
    A teacher asks us all to introduce ourselves, our name, where we are from, and what we do at home. He asks us to give the children hope and inspiration.
    I say I work in an office and help look after the environment, a child asks what we do to help the environment and I explain that we have alot of rain in England and to protect our land we biuld flood defences to protect us from floods, we help farmers look after the soil so we can grow our food and we think about waste and how to reuse and recycle. I also say I am a grandmother and help look after my granddaughter.
    Later a girl comes to me and says you are a grand mother and I say yes, she says, I have a grand mother and I tell her everything from my heart. I say that is so special, and thank you for sharing with me. She gives me a hug and runs off.
    I can not write it all!
    Paula and I lead a form of rounders, the soon learning and naturally divide into girls and boys. The girls develop strategies quickly to win and form chains through the balls. The boys keep moving the posts!
    Then we blow large bubbles so much giggling, but all want a go. We have to be firm to do it ourselves.
    It was a true experience. Most took their shoes off and played barefooted. We did it for 3 hours. I was exhausted but so happy to have spent time with them. They kept stroking my hair and high fiving.
    Read more