Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 3: Km 51, Fred Canyon

    May 13, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    Yesterday the heat nearly killed me and so I decided to start hiking at dawn today. As the day progressed it got hotter and hotter reaching 45deg C crazy heat, draining all the energy out of you.
    I battled up the 400m climb we had during the day again and again crossing Thomas, I was totally exhausted and with constant cramps in my muscles, despite taking magnesium and drinking, hold tight, 4 liters of water!
    In the afternoon I passed a flowing river and met Thomas there, resting in the little shade there was. When getting up to go, cramps shot through my thighs totally incapacitating me. Thomas had some Gatorade rehydration with him, I took it and and an hour later felt literally reborn. (I have since bought myself such a miracle powder!)
    With a totally diferent muscles, I walked the last 10kms.
    Coming the other way were approx 50 runners that were participating in a, hold tight, 50 mile (80km) trail run through mountainous rocky terain at 45deg centigrade. 1/3 were women!
    What a crazy country, half of the population is totally obese, and the other half is runnung 80km in the mountains at 45 deg centigrade.
    Read more