Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 4 heading into Mount Lagoona km77

    May 14, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Today again I started walking at sunrise and made it to mount Lagoona by 10am before the heat set in.
    Mount lagoona is 1800meters high and as I climbed up, the vegetation changed with pine trees oaks and maples appearing. I walked as the wind blew through the needles of the pines. What a wonderful world!
    Since then I have been sitting at the "luxury" french restaurant writing this blog . The only "french thing" was probably that they played "je t'aime" from the 60ties on the speaker system, again and again!
    Mobile reception on the trail is mostly non-existant and only available in villages, and then it is a question which provider you have, and it seems that with t-mobile I have the wrong one.
    Many have asked me how walking the trail is. 99% of the time I am walking alone. Despite 50 people starting per day till the end of may, each has their Tempo and distance per day, so everything spreads out and you are mainly alone, and when you do meet someone, they are passing you or you are passing them. A small conversation takes place and off you go again. The tent spots along the trail are quite frequent but usually only for one or two tents, so you never have large gatherings of hikers.
    So one is basically alone. But at least for the moment that feels good, I can walk the speed that my body needs, and stop when it wants to stop.
    After passing the hot period of the day in shade, at 16:00 when all the others went to the camping site, I decided to walk another 10kms and experienced the most incredible feeling of "flow". I was cruising along in cool evening air seemingly effortlessly until it started getting dark, when I discovered a beautiful tent site where I pitched camp.
    Read more