Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Mazunte & Temazcal

    June 6, 2021 in Mexico ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    Bad night, beautiful beach, search for a new hostel, pretty sunset, boring small city life. Homemade tacos at the market place in the morning and Ceviche at the sunset point in the evening!! I did a Temazcal in the evening, that is like a sauna but for cleaning your four spiritual bodies. You first ask all the gods, poles and apirits to accept you and then you sit in the Temazcal (a stony round hut) and you chant, cry, scream, do whatever you want while hot stones get carried in. It’s about opening doors so that you can free yourself. You get in there with an intention. They tell you the heat is only in your mind and probably it’s true but still I wanted to stop after the third round but then I just laid down on the floor where the heat wasn’t too strong. Afterwards you get out and take a dip in the pool at the same time. Especially in Mazunte (people have told me) it can seem like a sect, which I felt like being a part of a bit too but still, it was an interesting experience and I think I’d like to try it again being a bit more open-minded.Read more