Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day nine. Modica Sicily

    April 4, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Last night at the hotel in southern Italy I came downstairs for dinner. There was one other person who looked like he had just arrived and he was wearing a motorcycle jacket so I asked him if he is a guest. He was.
    We got talking and he told me the most amazing story.
    He has ridden his bike from Lithuania starting last Tuesday. The first part of his journey was with the bike in the back of his van and he drove into Ukraine where he has several friends. He picked up a friend and they drove the van to Poland where they unloaded the bike and Gintaras continued south towards Italy. The van was a gift to his friend who then filled it with provisions for his family and friends and drove it back to Kiev.
    I asked Gintaras how far he had traveled yesterday which was the day I took off because of bad weather. He said 1200klm which is incredible. He came a similar way to me and told me there is now snow on the hills I came over the day before.

    Now it is Monday evening and I rode with Gintaras who is also heading for Malta which he loves. He wanted to get there as soon as possible as his girlfriend has already arrived from Lithuania using Ryanair. I was content to visit Modeca and get the ferry on Wednesday morning. We parted at Pozzallo on the coast where they made space for him on the ferry.
    I'm now in Modica which is half an hour north of Pozzallo and what a beautiful place it is. I didn't realise when I booked but I'm in a boutique hotel which is quiet amazing. The position is right next to the cathedral. What a beautiful building. Tomorrow I will explore and write more about Modica.
    Read more