Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Day ten. Sightseeing Modica

    April 5, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    I'm not religious but I love churches so today I went for another look inside San Giorgio
    Click on this link to see a 360 degree photo
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/fog93dRX7YKRqdoz7

    then went to the other large church San Pietro
    Click on this link to see a 360 degree photo
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/npLaKqDQQDRxcemY8

    I'll post normal photos also.

    Then I took a walk to see the museum of Salvatore Quasimodo who I'm sure you'll remember won the Nobel prize for literature in 1959. It's a tiny place so I wasn't there long.

    Next I walked up and up and up to a viewing area called Belvedere. You will see the amazing view.
    Then I walked about a mile to visit interesting caves but Google was correct in telling me they would be closed so I came back to the hotel and as I came in I recognised an old man sitting as the artist whose work is being exhibited at the hotel. There are banners outside advertising his work. So I got talking via his agent who interpreted. He gave and signed a book to give to Mandy and I got a few photos of him.

    No holiday can be complete without a visit to the chocolate museum. So mine is not complete as it was also closed.

    Tonight I'm going for my last meal in Italy so it has to be pizza.

    Tomorrow I'm booked on the ferry to Malta so I need to get up early and leave here by 7.30. it's an hour and three quarters in a very fast catamaran.

    I'll summarise the trip when I get to Malta.
    Read more