Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    hello bangkok

    October 19, 2016 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Dear travel journal,
    I feel heaps better today. Woke up at 9.30am and headed down stairs for breaky (lucky its open till 10am). After breaky I checked and replied to some important emails and booked a temples and city tour for tomorrow. Then I organised my washing (everything except what im currently wearing) and headed down to reception to organise getting it done. The guy at the tours desk said that he would organise it and to follow him (in his very broken English - most people here really don't speak much English, if at all). We left the hotel, walked down the road, turned into a side street and then into an alley and he knocked on a door. I could briefly make out 'dry cleaners' on the door. A young boy maybe 15 ish opened the door and spoke the best English I have heard so far. He said I can collect my washing tomorrow night at 5pm. Omg I hope I get it back or I literally have the cloths off my back and that's it. Lol - will make packing easy I guess. Then I gave myself a tour of the hotel - pool, gym, sauna and decided to be brave and head off for a walk. The streets are busy. Jay walking is the only way to do it apparently. The markets and street food were everywhere and there was the occasional whitie and new fancy shopping complex. Tut tuts and massage people were always wanting attention but they all took no for an answer. I felt really quite safe walking around. It was however super hot and muggy and with my belly I just wanted a nice plain sandwich. I found a nice little cafe on the ground floor of a fancy shopping centre, so I sat and ate a sandwich and berry frappe and continued exploring before heading back to the hotel. It is definitely a town with open sexuality, lady boys, street venders and crazy traffic. At the hotel I chillaxed a bit, had some down time and had a massage. It was good but interesting. She was literally on top of me on hands and knees at one point and their was no room for modesty... But helped with some of my soreness. Then I headed down to the restraunt and was the only person there lol. Ate dinner and headed back up to my room. Watched some TV (found Chicago fire :p), organised my stuff and crashed. Not a bad first day I would say xoRead more