Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    goodbye borneo family

    October 18, 2016 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 33 °C

    Dear travel journal,
    I'm having loads of mixed emotions today. Super sad because I really don't want to leave Borneo and excited to be starting a new adventure, tired from all the travelling and sick cause I'm pretty sure I have food poisoning. So glad I'm in this fancy hotel room with a real toilet for 3 days. This morning was up early to pack all my stuff. The boys left at 4.30am so they are already on a plane on their way home. Everyone else including Alvin and Christina had breaky together. We said goodbye to Alvin who had an ecotourism course starting today (I'm sure our group will be mentioned at some point) and Christina gave all the ladies bead bracelets she had made. Mine is awesome light blue shiny beads with orange in between. Mine was slightly too big so when I had a minute I just took some of the beads off cause I wanted it to fit properly so I could wear it always. Then I said my goodbyes (and we all managed to not cry) and Christina and jaargar (another of Alvin's tour buddies) drove me to the airport. Everyone else is flying out at 8pm so christina and jaagar will go back and take them out for the day. The whole way Christina kept holding my hand and arm and told me to make sure I keep in touch and come back. That's a definite. At the airport we hugged for ages while I was trying my hardest not to cry (tearing up now just thinking about it) and she started crying. So I grabbed my stuff and one last hug and disappeared into the airport, before I got back in the van and never left. Through check in, security and immigration and I was in the airport. I wandered around a little and had a little massage in a massage chair before boarding. This mornings in flight movie was 'how to be single'. Not quite what I expected but still good. The food options were fish and chicken but they they had run out of chicken when I was served (last I think) so fish it was. I wasn't real convinced about eating it but was hungry so I did (think this was what's not agreeing with me). Then just a couple of hours stop over at Kuala Lumpur. I don't think I have ever been there during the day before. Its weird with everything open and all busy and stuff lol. Every other stop over has been super early with nothing open yet, like 4am. So I wandered around a bit, exchanged some monies and found a huge Starbucks with huge windows looking out to where the planes were coming in. So I ordered a drink (iced tea with some weird fruit and honey - very tasty) and sat and watched for a while. Then time to board flight 2 - on to bangkok. Once boarded we were delayed about 40 minutes, so they handed out head phones and ice cream and we sat on the run way to wait our turn. I watched the end of 'indepance day' remembering I hadn't finished it on the way in and most of 'mike and dove need wedding dates'. Once at Bangkok I made it through immigration, collected my luggage and headed off to the taxi rank. I was starting to feel a bit crappy by this point and thought maybe it was just being tired and sad and not enough water. Jumped in a cab and just over an hour later made it to the hotel. It was touch and go for a while, my driver didn't speak english and the address i had was in English. He had a vague idea but not much of an idea lol. In the end I rang the hotel and asked them to talk to the driver and they gave him directions. In my room I managed to unpack and shower before the sickness really began. I took some charcoal tablets. Ordered room service (for when I wake up hungry at 2am) and crashed and burned. 12.30am I woke up feeling better, ate dinner, watched some TV, chatted with peeps from home and went back to sleep. What a day.Read more