Satellite
Show on map
  • Yosemite National Park

    August 23, 2015 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Words and pictures do not accurately describe the beauty and vastness of Yosemite National Park. Even as I write about the trip nearly a full year later, my mind dwells on the wonders of nature and how small I felt. Yes I know I am a small person (I'm less than 5 feet tall) but I bet that anyone taller than me would agree. Scenery and nature appreciation aside, being in such a remote place forced me to reflect and detox from the fast-paced world.

    I took a 5 day backpacking to Yosemite with a group of people. I had been to this park before and even hiked the Half Dome in 1 day, so I felt pretty physically prepared. But I had no idea that I would not be showering or connected to the Internet for 5 consecutive days, nor did I think that I'd be sleeping without a tent. After all, I'm a clean suburban girl who likes her amenities and sanitation. I slowly let those ideas sink in and took on the challenge.

    I have to admit that the 5 day technology cleanse (except for my phone to take pictures) was incredibly refreshing. I didn't have to answer work emails because I didn't get them! I'd recommend an intentional technology fast to anyone and I'd happily do it again. The 5 days of sleeping outside turned out to be the best decision. There's something to be said about falling asleep in the caressing arms of nature and by watch of the moon. It was dangerous to be so exposed, yet so comforting knowing that God was watching over us. I had the best sleep in a long while, even if it was outdoors and exposed to the elements. And the sanitation... wasn't as bad as I thought. I grew to accept and prefer doing my business outdoors but I was definitely ready for a shower by the end of the 5 days.

    Needless to say, the scenery was absolutely gorgeous. First picture is of Middle Sunset Lake at sunset with an alpine glow. Second is Nevada Falls. Third is May Lake, also where I took a nap. Fourth is from the top of Mt Hoffman where on one side we saw the sunset and on the other we saw the cool cloud formation and the moon. Fifth is the Half Dome during our moonlight hike and at sunrise. Sixth is Tenaya Lake.
    Read more