Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 89

    Monteverde

    July 22, 2018 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    This by far a nicer place than La Fortuna. A nice little mountain town, still really touristy, but a lot nicer vibe.
    I got via a bus and a boat, then another bus. The boat went across part of a lake, it was raining and not too warm, but mildly intresting all the same. The other side, I went to get on my bus and was told no. I found out, only as they were calling the name ‘Ricardo’ that I was in another bus. It was a guided tour and, by now, as they been calling my name, everyone greeted me with a “Hola Ricardo!”. Turns out they all spoke English, but thought I was Spanish, including the tour guide who spoke to me in Spanish. I waited half an hour before I broke my cover, it was quite funny.
    I got to my hostel and started to think what I should do in Monteverde and the rest of my time in Costa Rica. I thought I should just maw a run for the board, seeing as though I cilantro surf, and get in to Panama where I knew people would be going to a party. An hour later, someone I knew walked in an that plan got changed. Funny how things happen. I had met Syarda in Utila, then again in Antigua briefly, and now!
    The hostel turned out to be very social, so two became seven and we had a little crew!
    The next day, we went for a walk in the Santa Elaina cloud Forrest, looking for wildlife. We saw pretty much nothing until we got back to the car park and saw a Coatapi walking around. In the arvo, everyone else went zip lining, I stayed in and learn a song on guitar. Nice.
    Next day, 5 of us went for a walk up the hill to find the chocolate and cheese factory’s, also some cafes. The chocolate place was shut, the cheese factory was crap, but I did drink an awesome affogato.
    That night, three of us planned to leave early and head to Tortuguero! 4:45 start.
    Read more