Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Toowoomba Floods

    February 25, 2022 in Australia ⋅ 🌧 20 °C

    Well, what a roller coaster these past few days have been!

    Van had to go back to Titan for the entire day on Wednesday, for all the faults to be fixed. There were about 20 things wrong with it - a brand new van! Astonishing.

    I'm struggling a little with things like; how can you tell the van is level? Both of the concrete pads I've parked up on, are both sloping. I do have a small level gauge on the electric jockey wheel, but the bubble seems to be stuck way up the top and never moves, no matter how much I fanny about with the legs! I'm hoping Pauline and Brigitte will know and will post on here what they do.

    Also, the water hose, which worked fine at the last park, is now spilling water everywhere from both ends. I've asked the fella at reception to pop down and help me when the rain stops. He said their water pressure is high, so hopefully it's that, and not me being a numpty (again).

    We went on our towing course with the RACQ, yesterday. Dick was rubbish at helping me back into tight spots, so had to learn to do it all myself.

    It is very much an art, that needs to be practiced over and over, because despite managing it perfectly 18 times on the course, do you think I could reverse the van into our spot two hours later, when I got to Toowoomba? Of course not. I was that idiot that needed two men to see me back in.
    I hang my head in shame.

    There's an almighty hill coming into Toowoomba. It's about 4km long. I thought I was being polite by tucking in behind a truck, but actually what I really needed to do was give it full welly and hog the right lane to avoid the trucks, as the poor Paj struggled with engine roaring for 4km at 40kmp/h, after getting stuck behind a slow truck.

    I clutched the steering wheel with white knuckles and verbally encouraged him on like he was a horse - and that's what got us up the hill. The Pajero is now having a well earned rest. As are Dick and I. We haven't managed to relax much since being on the road. But we're here at Toowoomba for 2wks, so plenty of time for R&R.

    However, the rains started yesterday and have not stopped since. We are parked at the very bottom of the site, next to beautiful lakes and a river....which has now burst its banks. Reception rang earlier saying they may need to move us, if it gets any worse.

    Maybe I'll get to practice my reverse parking skills again, and redeem myself? 🤔
    Read more