Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Toowoomba Contemplations

    March 1, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Musing No 1: Traffic lights. I had forgotten their existence. What a massive pain in the arse they are.

    Musing No 2: Mini roundabouts. The bane of the caravanner's existence. That new RedArc braking system is getting a thorough work out.

    Musing No 3: I have adapted to sitting out under the awning, in full view of the public and other CP patrons, in my pyjamas, far too easily.

    Musing No 4: The van is off to the local repair centre tomorrow, for yet more faults to be fixed. This is getting boring.

    Musing No 5: The mossies here are voracious after sundown. Vicks VapoRub is my new best friend - it's the only thing that soothes the bites. Must look into that new gadget that kills them before they bite, Thermacell.

    Musing No 6: Nine dead from these floods in south QLD. One poor old lady found dead in her house in Lismore. That makes me so sad, they all forgot about her.

    Musing No 7: Due to the floods, I have changed my travel route. The two parks I was headed to, are both on the east coast and under water. So, I'll now head to Warwick and Stanthorpe instead.

    Musing No 8: The GP here wants me to do
    a) a blood test (fine) and
    b) a stool test (not fine)
    ...as she thinks my raging indigestion could be from bacteria in my stomach.

    I am 45yrs of age (I think), have attended awful murder scenes and gruesome fatal crash scenes, happily muching my breakfast as I work, without batting an eyelid.

    But one must draw the line somewhere. And in the immortal words of Sweet Brown "..ain't nobody got time for that."

    Video here for the uninitiated: https://youtu.be/waEC-8GFTP4

    Back to a diet of Gaviscon on toast, then.
    Read more