Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Market and more rice

    January 28, 2017 in Cambodia ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    We explored a small town market where the locals mostly do their grocery shopping, it is clearly cheaper than the Old Market in Siem Reap. I had to breath through my mouth to survive the fish and meat section (I am getting the hang of it now) !! Eeuuwwh!!
    There were a baking aka fried goodies section, our guide got a selection for us to try. I loved his enthusiasm and as this was not part of the itinerary I felt obligated to ditch my fussiness. When he explained it I felt a deep sense of nervousness, as it its totally out of my "scope" of whats a pastry or delicatessen. Well surprise surprise the key ingredient is rice...sticky rice, rice paste, rice flour or some other unimaginable form of rice in a processed form. It was actually very tasty... who would have known beans in sticky rice can be good? It was culinary experience of note and we both did not feel like anything to eat until dinner.

    Some of the stuff if I can try to explain
    -A form of sweet potato fries just way chunkier and not salty like the ones we are used to..
    -Banana in fried rice dough
    -Sticky rice topped with Sugar cane syrup was also pretty good
    -rice balls filled with a type of bean not sure if its deep fried or not

    I tend to ignore the fact that alot if the stuff is deep fried at least its safe🙈🤣I hope

    I MISS PROTEIN

    {Issy}
    Read more