Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Goodbye Japan

    September 22, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 70 °F

    Day 20 & 21 ~ 25,125 Miles

    I have always loved the feeling of returning home, whether at the end of the day or at the end of a trip. I imagine that “Home Sweet Home” was first uttered after a long travel day. We managed to travel for 25 hours, including layovers, over 3 flights through 4 airports before the calendar changed the date. The international date line is confusing to an exhausted mind.

    I was hoping for one last view of the expanse of Tokyo during our departure but Tokyo was blanketed by heavy clouds from the remnants of Typhoon 14. While I began to pull the window shutter closed I looked back one more time as we broke through the clouds and was treated to a view of the top of Mt. Fuji.

    Mt. Fuji is a shy mountain but she said Goodbye.
    Read more