Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Tree tops and Blooms

    November 10, 2023 in Singapore ⋅ ☁️ 31 °C

    Started off the morning with a Shakshouka (a dish from North Africa) cause it sounded like Eggs Heuovs. But then I forgot to add in the sausage for extra and it was a very soupy breakfast of just eggs, tomatoes and peppers; it didn't set me up for the gizillion steps that were ahead of me today.

    Headed out to one of the reserves to do the tree canopy walk on a suspension bridge. I was tight for time as I also wanted to make the Botanical Gardens by the end of the day so I was racing around the forest trying to get there; taking one long detour that I had to loop back on didn't help either.

    But I got there in the end and the views from the bridge were amazing. The forest was also pretty much devoid of people so it was extremely peaceful walking around listening to the cicadas and the birds.

    Afterwards I got the bus to the National Botanic Gardens where the main attraction is the Orchid Garden and it was well worth the paid ticket to see the outstanding orchids that they have on display and learn a bit more about growing the plants and the different varieties. I'll have to get Dad out here to compare his orchid growing skills against theirs.
    Read more