Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Via del la Plata - Day 1 - First 3 km

    September 21, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Today morphed into my first Camino day.
    I went to the Cathedral to get my credential stamped. The guard was very happy and pleased to do this and wished me Buen Camino. I didn’t actually go into the Cathedral as the line to get in was very long and it was heading towards the afternoon.
    I followed my guide book and the Camino signs towards Triana thinking I would stop at the statue of St James where it says 1000 km to Santiago. However I didn’t find the statue and so headed for my hostel in Triana. So I think I have walked the first 2 km of VDLP 😅
    What I did find was a tiny Square with a small monument to the Gypsies who used to live in the Triana district. The monument has many short poems written by Gypsies who were expelled during Franco’s time - some happy and some very sad. One poem was translated to me as saying - ‘You can ask me any fact/thing you like, but please never ask me to leave Triana.’
    The Square also seems to have something to do with the Spanish Inquisition.
    Spain has had such a torturous past both long ago and recently. Yet it seems that a diverse and vibrant culture has emerged that has somehow integrated these events. This is a very superficial reflection. I am interested to read more about Spain.
    PS. Sorry about a couple of slightly blurry photos. It was after my now favourite lunch time drink - Tinto de Verano - red wine, orange juice and soda.
    Read more