Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Day 4 - Castilblanco - 18.5 km

    September 24, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Breakfast at 6.15 am - Cafe con leche and toast
    Left around 6.30 in the dark. I had planned to leave a little earlier but luckily I didn’t. Just on the edge of town I met two other peregrinos with a headlamp so I could follow them and not use up my phone battery.
    The initial walk along a main road was tricky so I was incredibly grateful to have these two guides - Camino Angels.
    All the people I have met so far are Spanish with little or no English. One of my fellow walkers was very talkative so I taught him some English words and he taught me some Spanish. He was a fan of Uriah Heap.
    Most of the day we walked through the rural areas and it was slightly up hill all the way - I was pretty tired by the end. I walked with Juan and Tomas for about 10 km and then stopped for a break as they went off ahead.
    About 3 km along I slightly turned my left ankle - the one I sprained 3 years ago. I guess it still isn’t as strong as I imagined. But it was not too bad and with my poles and concentration I finished the mornings walk.
    Of course I left my ankle strap behind thinking that my ankle was good now. Haha. Good thing we are walking from town to town and I can get anything I need - next stop Farmacia for an ankle bandage.
    Oops. Farmacia closed at 2 pm
    So for tomorrow I decided to take a taxi half way - to the National Park which is then a flat walk - get my pack sent ahead- and walk the last 12 km in the Park with my day pack. Have drugs and cream and a pressure sock so hopefully that will be enough.
    And as I returned to the albergue I was invited to share a taxi in exactly this way. Blessings abound. And the English speaking host at the albergue booked my next accomodation and arranged for the taxi to take my bag ahead. How blessed am I.
    There is an Australian (Wollongong) couple here today, a young man from Switzerland and the rest Spanish.
    All is good. I feel safe and protected in all ways.
    Buen Camino
    Read more