Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    One day in Zafra - Fiesta

    September 30, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    NOTE: Animals were harmed in this post!!! Vegetarians beware.
    It’s fiesta in Zafra - actually the agricultural show. I was expecting a small local event but this is like the Royal Easter Show. Not quite as big but still pretty huge - maybe the annual agricultural show for all of Extremadura.
    I had a wander around the animal exhibits and felt sorry for the cattle and sheep. I am not sure what was happening to the pigs but it seems their pavilion was closed this morning and there was a lot of squealing at one point. Perhaps judging time.
    I am sitting watching the horses go through their paces. I suspect the first one might win - she is very talented. - but his handler didn’t seem very nice. I think they get points for the horse and handler and it’s all a bit different from what we are used to. I am sure they are reading out the scores but it’s all Spanish to me. 🤣
    I stopped by the open air food BBQ area - paella, pulpo (octopus), chicken, and every type of meat you can imagine plus chips and veges all cooked in the open air in huge pans over hot coals. Very expensive but the best pulpo I have eaten since Portugal.
    In Spain there does not seem to be such a huge gap as their is in Sydney town, between the living animal and the eating of that animal, .
    Spent the afternoon sorting out paperwork- yes it still appears on Camino - and resting up for tomorrow.
    PS. One of the most interesting sights in Zafra are the rocky cliffs you can see in the distance from various parts of town.
    Read more