Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Day 11 - Villafranca- 20 km

    October 1, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    ‘Walk your own Camino’
    This is the saying and advice given over and over again and it is amazing how often we forget for ourselves and judge others when their way is different.
    It seems I have hit an ‘empty day’ - I was the only walker at the albergue last night (4 others were on bikes) and have only seen one other walker today.
    This means it is so much easier to stroll at my own pace, stop when I feel like it and start again when I am ready. Right now I am sitting by the side of a small dirt roadway amongst the olive groves. I can hear distant traffic, birds tweeting, the sound of the wind in the trees and the buzz of the occasional insect. So peaceful.
    My favourite little town so far - Los Santos de Maimona - appeared 4 km from todays starting point and I had a delicious cafe con leche and toast - served by a smiling and happy young woman. A few men were out walking their dogs and stopping for coffee or a chat with each other. I received many ‘Buenos dias’ and smiles as I followed the huge yellow arrows painted in the street. The town has such a lovely atmosphere. I imagined a close knit community, not far from the action in Zafra, but very much away from the hustle and bustle.
    Afternoon - I have had a lovely day only to find the albergue in Villafranca closed and all other accommodation booked out because of the agricultural show in Zafra.
    Was suggested that I take a bus to Merida but with the help of some young people I got a bed in the next town and headed for the bus stop.
    More help from some English speakers but I missed taking the next bus because I thought it went to Sevilla. So now waiting another 90 mins for the next bus. Aaahhhggh!!!!
    I wondered if I would end up having to sleep at the bus stop. Worse things have happened.
    A real lesson in patience and an opportunity to practice calm and trust. And also learning that problems will be solved when they are solved and not a moment sooner.
    Good news - there is a power point at the bus station so I could charge my phone.
    Read more