Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Day 16 - Casar de Cáceres - 22 km

    October 6, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    We got off to an early start this morning to have some extended time to look at the ancient city of Cáceres on the way.
    This city started as a Roman city, then Visigoth, then Moorish and finally Christian.
    The more I see if the south of Spain the more I admire and appreciate the Moorish culture.
    The old town of Cáseres is full of history but the place that had the greatest impact on me was a small museum of a typical Arab home. It had an indoor water well supplied by rain water and a sauna below. In winter the whole house was heated with this system.
    The main square had both Moorish and Christian buildings set on Roman foundations. I feel sad when I see the Christian churches standing so bold and dominating on top of this sophisticated Arab culture.
    The afternoon to Casar de Cásares was again hot and challenging. But I knew it would eventually end so it was one step at a time.
    The avenue of trees leading to the town was a sight for sore eyes and we all gathered at a pretty up-market restaurant for a fabulous three course meal with wine and beer for €17.
    Tomorrow is a long stage of 33 km because the albergue at the usual half way point is closed. The group I am with will transport their bags for this leg and I think I will take the taxi as we and just walk the last 10 km. I need a shorter day to give the body a bit of recovery time.
    Experiencing the history of Spain has left me a little sad today - the story of war and human suffering too often in the name of God and religion. It’s not just in Spain but it feels more present here.
    It’s amazing that the Spanish are such warm and inclusive people after such a complex history.
    Buen Camino
    Read more