Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Day 15 - Valdesalor - 26 km!!!!!

    October 5, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    Last night a group of older Spanish pilgrims struggled in around 7 pm. They looked done in - particularly one man.
    I later found out they are mostly experienced walkers and one even runs half marathons. They had walked 34 km in one day. And they are all around 60 or older. 🤩🤩🤩
    I have been trying to walk less than 20 km per day until it cools down. I decided it was too hard in the afternoon heat. But it turns out that the albergue in one of my planned stops is closed. While I was working out how to break up the next stages I had a chat with the woman in the group, Beatrice (the rest of the group are men).
    Anyway the result is that I walked with the group - and it seemed I wanted to give the 26 km a go. When we got to my original planned stop at 15 km one man decided to take a taxi the rest of the way. He kindly agreed to take my back pack so I could walk the next 11 km with just my small day pack. I don’t think I could have done it with a full pack- so God was looking after me and let me know I can do more than the mind allows.
    Everyone looked out for me and were very complementary. Antonio had a long conversing me via Google translate and others made sure I was OK.
    Antonio and others talked about Santa Rita (Saint Rita - who I came across in Sevilla) who said - What is given is not taken away.
    In Spain the use the expression with children to teach them to take turns and share.
    But for me it means that when we give something away we are not diminished, we do not lose anything. I like that meaning better as for me it indicates that there is an infinite supply in all of us - for others and also for ourselves.
    Today was also the day that I wanted to let go of the belief that I can’t walk very far and that it’s too hard. I recalled one of our guides in Tibet who said - it’s all in the mind.
    What I found today was that I can walk much further thank I think. But when it gets hard the ‘I can’t’ thoughts arise with great gusto. 😂😂😂
    I do need to be mindful of my foot with the Morton’s Neuroma and mindful of the heat - but I have my beloved umbrella.
    I found the last 7 km really hot and hard but instead of thinking thoughts about how I can’t do this, I did some releasing. My mantra (in 32 degrees) was - I allow myself to feel as hot as I do: I allow myself to be as cool as I can. It helped me to focus on being cool instead of focusing on how hot it was - and kept me going - and a cooler breeze soon popped up which helped of course.
    Right now I have shared a meal with my group (salad, calamari, chicken, pork and the best tomatoes so far) and they are all getting a bit pissed on the local wine which tastes a bit like sherry and is quite good but seems stronger than the other Spanish wine I have tasted. I eventually had a small amount and when I said I liked it they all cheered.
    My most loved Camino items today
    - Umbrella
    - Day pack
    - Voltarin Forte cream

    Other highlights
    The whole of today was through the country side - away from any main roads.
    Here the Camino follows the old Roman road going north. We crossed three Roman bridges - still completely intact and going strong - and passed a Roman milestone that said XXVIII.

    PS - the group stopped for many photo opportunities- hence some photos of me for a change. 😁

    Buen Camino
    Read more