Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 21 - Olivia de Plasencia - 20 km

    October 11, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Another lovely day through through rolling hills of cows and cork oak trees.
    I met an Italian man on the road who has to be in Santiago by 1 November, so we parted ways after a couple of km as his pace was much faster than mine.
    I came across the lovely Korean couple from last night having a picnic along the way. They had food, coffee and music - so well organised. We all walk our own Camino.
    I turned off the main Camino route to the quaint town of Olivia de Plasencia so that I could stay within my 20 km limit.
    The last 6 km was along a sealed road which was a bit busy but not too bad. The last 2 km was hotter with minimal shade. I was glad I wasn’t going any further and my foot started to hurt at that dreaded 18 km mark.
    This village is so sweet. Tiny narrow streets and very old houses. The village is situated at the foot of some beautiful hills. The albergue is full of character in a very old building and has a well equipped kitchen and great bathroom.
    The crochet trend is alive and well here. Not only crochet squares but crochet people as well. Check out the photos.
    Many of the group from yesterday are here too. One from Korea, two from France, two from Spain and a ‘new one’ from Portugal - and two on bikes just arrived. A hugely social night compared to my solo days of the past.
    It seemed we were all making our own dinner tonight in the well equiped kitchen but now it looks like it will be a communal meal after all. My contribution is the salad - tomatoes, cucumber and roasted capsicum.
    Just discovered tomorrow is the Spanish National Day. All of Spain is celebrating and nothing is open.
    I am going ‘of piste’ again tomorrow to stay within my 20 km but only 2.5 km off the offical Way. The only accomodation is a hotel for €25 but there is a restaurant attached so I should be able to get a good meal even though it is Spanish National Day.
    Dinner will be ready soon so I will say …
    Buen Camino
    Read more