Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Day 20 - Carcabosa - 10 km

    October 10, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Had a really good sleep and a slow start to the day. There was one other person in the albergue. In the evening he watched soccer on his tablet in the lounge area - and he didn’t snore. 🙏🙏🙏
    However when I woke this morning I realised I had missed a live online event that I was looking forward to. I somehow can’t get any time conversions right at the moment. This is the second time this has happened. Of course I felt like I had completely missed out.
    Well never mind; get ready; head to the bar for a coffee and start your day.
    The TV was on - bombing in Kiev, floods and fires elsewhere……. Suddenly I was filled with gratitude for my life, my incredible good fortune to be here where I am now, safe, secure, loved, I haven’t missed out on anything.
    As I began my walk I found myself joyfully singing mantras aloud in an exuberant and creative way that reminded me of my meditation teacher. I felt at one with her and realised I absolutely hadn’t missed out on anything. Joy and love live within me and all I need to do is to turn my attention to that never ending spring inside.
    I am now in the ‘heart of Via de la Plata’ according to one commentary.
    Today was an easy walk along a side road with some traffic - but not enough to be a problem. More cows and milk sheep, as well as poplar plantations and the start of autumn colours emerging.
    I strolled through the morning with a very occasional sprinkling of rain (thank you to my umbrella) and many stops to rest, stare and snack.
    I arrived in Carcabossa around 11.30 am to be greeted by an enthusiastic gentleman who stopped me before I walked right past my booked accommodation. He took my back pack, sent me off for coffee and taught me how to say - I am from Australia- in Spanish.
    There is a very well stocked supermarket where I was able to purchase a pencil and eraser so I can better plan my days and then rub out my plan when I end up doing something different. They also had a head lamp which I really need as the sun rises later each day and I will need to be on my way byt 7.30 am latest - and sometimes earlier - when it is still dark. Who would have thought.
    Walking alone is great for my Spanish. I look up what I want to say and give it a shot - and to my surprise they understand me!!!
    Late lunch
    The local cafe has a restaurant room attached. A bit more up market than usual. I had a 3 course lunch with wine and bread €12, 50 ($20) - totally full. This is my regular one big meal of the day. Today I had a huge salad (my usual daily choice), calamari with roasted red peppers - delicious - and Nutella mousse for desert - out of this world. How lucky can a girl get.
    The TV is on showing the weather forecast. No rain for where I am heading but lots of rain to the west. Hopefully the weather gods are on my side.
    There are at least 9 people in the hostel tonight. All peregrinos - French, Korean, Spanish, Scottish - it’s always nice to have an English speaker around.
    Tomorrow i am walking 20 km and am looking forward to an early start and a longer day. I hope my dodgy foot is up for it. I am pretty sure the rest of the body is fine.
    Buen Camino

    PS. I went for a walk in the evening and found a big sign explaining the history of this town. It seems that while on the past there was a small population, the town itself is relatively new as a result of public works in the area. I thought that maybe this is why it had a different feel than the other older towns and villages - and the services were really good.
    Read more