Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Day 22 - Jarilla - 17.7 km

    October 12, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    This morning was exquisite.
    We started off in the dark and then were greeted by golden morning light with the waning moon bright in the sky. It was so peaceful walking through the fields with only some cows and a few pigs (which I hadn’t seen for a while).
    It took me a while to realise I couldn’t hear a distant motorway, which often accompanies this Camino. I think that was one of the reasons this morning was so special. A perfectly divine morning.
    We walked through what appeared to be a very wealthy stud farm called Finca Los Baldios (The Baldios Eatate). Lots of stone pillars signifying different areas of the estate - we all thought it to be worth millions.
    A short while later we passed Caparra Ruinas Romanas - the remains of a significant Roman city with a great arch, an old road and lots of building foundations. So interesting.
    I also noticed it was quite dry here. The waterways were all dried up and a waterhole was only a quarter full.
    I turned off the Camino again to stay within my 20 km limit. I am glad I was with Sylvie and Maria from France as we were all a bit concerned that I would not find the correct turn off. But after consulting my guide and looking for the sign - there it was painted on the side road. I sadly farewelled Sylvie and Marie (they are lovely) and walked the 2 km to Hotel Asturias.
    I had an excellent lunch - salada mixta, lamb chops with chips and vanilla mousse for desert and with a whole bottle of VinoTinto. In this area they give you the whole bottle and you just drink as much as you like. I am sure they pour the leftovers together into a new bottle for the next customer as the bottle is already open when it arrives at the table. But still it’s lovely and generous. The Spanish wine is mild and delicious and I can easily have a small glass or two with my meal without any ill effects.
    So today was walk, arrive, lunch, nap, do some washing, yoga, look at next stages of the Camino, watch the beautiful sunset …. Perfect.
    My room has a small balcony from which I can see the distant blue hills - no need to even step outside as everything I might want to see is just there.
    It is 8.30 pm and the red/orange afterglow from the setting sun has nearly faded.
    Buen Camino

    PS. We are in wild lavender country.
    Read more