Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Day 23 - Aldeanueva - 13 km

    October 13, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Another beautiful day - clear sunny skies with a gentle cool breeze.
    I had a sleep in this morning as this is a short day so didn’t start walking till about 9 am.
    The first 3 km was along a road to get back to the official Camino, but again not to much traffic and a couple of spots where I could walk on the old road beside the new one.
    The highlight of the day soon followed with a trail through the countryside, between stone walls and further away from main roads. Beautiful.
    I found a stopping place and just stopped! Something I don’t think I have really done yet on this Camino.
    I sat and listened to the silence, cow bells, birds, insects and the quiet hum of traffic in the distance.
    It reminded me of the serenity of my beloved Snowy Mountains and I wondered if it is the actual mountains that vibrate with this particular peace and silence. The mountains seem like great hunks of silent beingness - just there. Is this why the Himalayas are so powerful - the silent consciousness of mountains.
    So here I am sitting. And running the dry lavender from the surrounding bushes on my wrists. I don’t want to leave as I know that in an hour or so I will be in a largish town till the morning.
    I can see two villages (Puebla) right at the foot of the hills. I looked them up on Wikipedia. One is said to be from ancient Celtic times while the other is said to have spontaneously manifested in the 20th Century - but maybe that is a typo and should be 2nd Century. Ah you have to love the Spanish.
    I know I have been here a while because my shady spot is becoming sunny and the tractor that passed a while ago has just come back with its load.
    The town of Aldeanueva is a complete surprise. A wonderful old town where the buildings in some places are well below street level. The albergue is marvellous and the host who spoke English told me that any town that starts with Al.. is from Arabic times. No wonder I feel so good here. The original town is Roman and there is a cute little Roman bridge in the centre of town. The buildings and iron work on the verandahs reminds me of Sevilla. Loving it.
    I was looking up my next stops and found that Baŋos de Montemayor is an old Roman spa town.
    My albergue host, Frances, said he can call for some more information. There are a number of Roman spa towns along this route. I already missed one opportunity and want to make sure I can have the Roman spa experience at least once.

    Buen Camino
    Read more