Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Day 24 - Detour to Hervás

    October 14, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    I took a wonderful short detour through Hervás this morning. This pretty and historical town is closer to the mountains so that part of my curiosity has been satisfied. And Hervás has a incredibly interesting Jewish history.
    I stopped for a decaf and left my backpack at the bar while I went exploring.
    The ‘Jewish Quarter’ has been well preserved but I felt very sad to read about the Jewish history of this town as it reflects the Spanish Jewish history so very well - expulsion; forced conversion to Christianity; death via the Inquisition. I nearly didn’t come for that reason.
    The town itself is well set up for tourists with many cafes, specialty shops and many hostels, appartments and hotels outside of town.
    The Jewish Quarter, with its history, narrow streets and interesting houses, is a delight and highly recommended to anyone who happens to be in this part of Spain.
    I possibly didn’t explore as long as I might have because I left my poles outside!!! the bar. But they were still there when I got back.
    Then I had churros and my banana & yogurt before setting off to return to the Camino.
    A truly gratifying morning.
    PS. I don’t think the photos are so great. The light wasn’t good and it’sreally hard to get the feel of the narrow winding streets and different buildings.

    Here is a quote and a few links with more information

    “Hervás is the only place I’ve been to in Spain and seen the words “Hebrew is spoken here” on the front of a shop. Out of all the places I’ve visited in this country, it is by far the one which is most proud of its Jewish history and seems to make every effort to promote and preserve it. But its Jewish history is different to that of other places across Spain. Hervás was not simply another place where Jewish communities had settled and worked. Rather, it was a place of refuge for Jews who were escaping from the ongoing persecution that was taking place throughout the rest of the country centuries ago.”

    https://www.itinari.com/hervas-and-the-jewish-q…

    https://www.piggytraveller.com/blog/jewish-lega…
    Read more