Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Day 31 - Calzada - 15.7 km

    October 21, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    Last night the mind was hiding in its secret cave fretting about rain and cold.
    Then when I woke it wasn’t raining and it wasn’t cold.

    I think it was hallowe’en last night. The students were all dressed up yesterday and I could still hear a bit of carousing at 4.00 am. 🎃🎃🎃

    A shorter day - starting with excellent coffee and croissant just outside the old town of Salamanca and a break every 5 km. Just how I like it. The landscape was again a flat plain for easy waking.
    I got to my next albergue about 12.30 pm and am now waiting for the hospitalario who will be here soon.
    There was some rain and a cool breeze at times but nothing my umbrella and wind jacket couldn’t handle. At one point I was actually hot.
    I met a lovely young woman from Austria and we walked together for 5 km. She told me her story and her Camino experience so far. I was very happy to assure her that everything that she told me was normal and she thanked me as she headed off to do another 20 km - while I stopped at 15 km.
    I am happy with my pace but hope it doesn’t get too cold. Today I am in my short sleeve merino t-shirt, light fleece and rain jacket. I still have two more merino layers I can put on and leggings under my pants. And I guess I can always buy more clothes. There is a Decathlon in Zamora just three days away.
    My afternoon will consist of the usual - shower. wash my socks and undies, have a late lunch, journal, take a nap, do some yoga, read, get ready for tomorrow.
    Footnote
    Haven’t seen the hospitalaro yet but the sweet woman who was cleaning the Albergue let me in when she was done. What a treat. Gas heater on, flannel sheets on the bed, no bunks. I discovered I left my tiny towel in Salamanca so am now using my big lightweight cotton scarf for a towel. One of the hints and tips I have picked up on the way.

    Buen Camino

    PS. Not too many photos today- not sure why.
    PPS. Do you think I am starting to obsess about the weather - I do. 💨 ☔️ 🌂💧🌬
    Read more