Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Day 32 - El Cubo - 20.7 km

    October 22, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    Dear fairies, gods and other beings of the weather - I thank you with all my heart for looking after me and keeping the rain away from my walking hours thus far. Please continue with your blessings. I acknowledge and honour you all - and am forever grateful and thankful for your past, present and future kindness to me. 🙏🙏🙏

    So it seems that over the past couple of days, it only starts raining after 3 or 4 pm, giving me plenty of time to get to my next destination. I pray this continues and if not… it’s ok too.
    How did today go?
    I think the hero ingredient was the sky - supported by the ever present tail wind.
    I am still on the meseta (plateau) so just flat with a few short ups and downs from time to time. The sky was so beautiful - clear with random clouds, sun and that ever present tail wind.
    My albergue tonight offers dinner and breakfast plus bed, sheets and towel for €30. It’s the only one in town so can charge what they like but it actually works out to be good value as we head into the more expensive north. The €7.50 Menu del Dia in Andalusia gave me a slightly false sense of economic security.
    Dinner isn’t till 8.00 pm so my eating schedule is a bit disrupted. I am now in what I would call a boys bar, having an afternoon drink and a snack to tide me over.
    I like to go into these more basic bars. The prices are better but the main reason is that is just the ‘boys’ - and today a couple of girls as well at the pool table - a more local vibe. It’s 3 pm and getting packed -21 boys and 3 girls including me. 🤣🍺🍷
    Evening update
    The heating is on the blink! The men are discussing how to get it going, outside my door. I am the only person in my small dorm, have put on all my clothes, pulled out my sleeping bag and jumped in bed (I don’t want to get in under the sheets and blankets, just under the bedspread - hence the sleeping bag) . And I am probably hungry waiting for my late (for me) meal. Just heard the men saying the word Australian. I hope I am not getting a reputation for being a complainer.
    I have to laugh. All part of life’s rich pageant.

    Buen Camino

    PS. The dinner that was eventually served was fabulous. And as soon as I had eaten I warmed up. Another bit of learning to take forward - eat dinner early OR make sure I eat heartily enough around 4 pm.
    Read more