Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Day 47 - Campobecerros - 21.1 km

    November 6, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Weather: 4 - 13 with fog and light rain all the morning
    Clothes: The same

    The walk - a grey day
    Mist and fog and very light drizzle for most of the walk. Which meant that there was not much to see so after my early morning spiritual music I put on an audio book, put my head down and just put one foot in front of the other.
    The clouds parted in the early afternoon and I got to my destination around 2.30 pm - a 6.5 hour walk.
    The knee is now fine but the old foot injury is a bit tender after some strenuous days - and today was about my maximum kms.
    Today we were in open mountain country with lots of ups and downs -around 1000 metres above sea level. There was also quite a lot of evidence of last summers fires here as well.
    Not much more to say. I haven’t had a coffee today so I think I am ready for a snooze. I forgot it was Sunday and nothing was open in the morning before we left - and there were only tiny three-house villages along the way. I am still walking with Juan although we walk at our own pace and meet up at the end of the day.
    It’s sort of good to have a ‘boring’ day in the fog - just relaxing and walking. But to be honest I felt grumpy and resistant- one of those days when I would rather be somewhere else.
    Campobecerros is a little town surrounded by hills - again reminds me of the towns in the Snowy Mountains. I am in the bar having my usual late lunch.
    The Albergue is warm, has blankets and new bathrooms. Really - what more could a girl want.
    This is the first time I have come across Peliqueiro, a traditional figure of the Laza Carnival - his statue is outside the albergue.

    Buen Camino

    PS. I slept for about 12 hours and I think this town might be a bit depressing. Or else I’m getting road weary. It’s been a while since I had a day off. Looking forward to Orense and the hot springs.
    Read more