Satellite
Show on map
  • What’s in my pack

    September 19, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    What you take in your pack depends on the Camino you are walking, the time of year, your gender, your age, does your body run hot or cold, the weather that particular year, your physical health and fitness, whether you will carry your pack or have it transported, and probably other things I haven’t thought of.
    However the core items are pretty much the same for everyone.

    This is what I had in my pack for the Via de la Plata / Sanabres (Sevilla to Santiago) from 22 September - 20 November 2022

    Started with -

    Clothes - general - for hot to cold ( I didn't wash every night especially as the weather got cooler)
    1 Trek zip pants
    1 lightweight shorts (I left those as the weather got cooler)
    1 long sleeve merino top
    1 short sleeve merino top
    1 light sleeveless merino top
    1 extra light T-shirt for very hot Andelucian evenings (or a light dress next time)
    3/4 leggings (only wore a few times)
    2 pairs Bridgedale Lightweight merino socks (forgot one pair at Zamora))
    1 compression socks
    2 quick dry undies
    2 bras
    1 light wind fleece
    1 light shower / wind jacket
    Lightweight gloves
    Buff
    Cap

    Purchased along the way
    Salamanca - Rain poncho - 275 g

    Zamora - clothes for colder evenings
    Lightweight Warm track pants
    Lightweight Fleece Vest

    Other
    Vitamins - various
    Sun / rain umbrella - a lifesaver
    Small towel (left my original somewhere and had to replace)
    Large scarf (left somewhere and didn’t replace)
    Toiletries - shampoo and conditioner, half a soap, toothpaste and toothbrush, face cream and body lotion, sun screen
    Minimal first aid kit - a few bandaids, a few ibuprofin, panadol and antihistamines
    Nail clippers, nail scissors, tweezers and mirror, a bit of gaffer tape, needle and thread (never used), lighter (never used) ….
    Pegless clothes line, 6 safety pins, laundry flakes (most places had laundry soap or hand soap for just socks and undies)
    Sea to Summit Ultrasil day pack
    Water bottle - plastic (for extra water, for at night and for filling the internal water bladder)

    Footwear
    Merrill MOAB 3 Mids Wide fit, with orthotics in one shoe and an alternate inner sole in the other - the second orthotic gave me a small blister by day 3
    Tebo style sandals
    Trekking poles (purchased in Sevilla) - I include these in footwear as they are really to support feet, ankles and knees.

    Sleeping
    Good quality silk sleep sheet
    Sea to Summit Traveller down sleeping bag - can be opened up to be a blanket. (425 grams)

    Pack
    Osprey Sirius 36 litre - always plenty of room for extra food
    Water bladder insert- I find it’s better to regularly take smaller drinks of water than a whole lot every hour

    What changed
    My half bar of soap ran out. I found a small shampoo and used it for body wash, hair and on occasions laundry
    I topped up my very small bottle of conditioner from a supply at an albergue
    I bought Voltarin Plus cream for my chronic foot problem.
    Purchased more anithistamines for hayfever at one point
    I had to buy more ibuprofen and paracetamol when my knee was bad for a week or so

    I found Rob’s video ‘What’s in my pack?’ really useful. Particularly the gaffer tape - I used it on my collapsing poles. 🙏🙏

    https://youtu.be/jWW7ihHr1vA
    Read more